Board of Governors

Central Community College is governed by an 11-member Board of Governors. Two members are elected from each of five election districts. One member is elected at-large. Members are elected to four-year terms with no limit on the number of terms.

Live board meeting

Archived meeting information and videos

Counties and precincts included in each election district

Board Members

The following biographies include both current and past professional affiliations and awards.

District 1

Jason Buss

Central City
Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Human resources manager and global environmental health and safety leader for Camaco in Columbus
Education: Bachelor’s degree in business administration, Missouri Western State University
Affiliations and Awards:
Nebraska Trails Foundation, president
Platte PEER Group and Dark Island Trail Advisory Group, vice president
Merrick County Child Development Center, past president
Columbus Area Recreational Trails, past president
Justice for Our Neighbors, past Spanish intake coordinator

Diane KellerDiane Keller

Term Expires: 2026
Employment: Retired
Education: Bachelor of science in nursing, master of health care administration 
Affiliations and Awards:
Hamilton County Leadership Tomorrow, chair 
Nebraska Community College Association Board 
Heartland Health Alliance 
Governor’s Commission on Child Care Financing 
Nebraska LEAD Fellow

District 2

Linda Heiden, Vice Chair

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Account executive at GTA Insurance Group and farm manager for family farm
Education: Bachelor of science from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Affiliations and Awards:
Board of Optometry, member
Bertrand Board of Education, member and past pesident
State Board of Health, past member
Board of Cosmetology, past member
Board of Veterinary Medicine, past member

Rita SkilesRita Skiles, NCCA Representative

Term Expires: 2026
Employment: Self-employed advocacy consultant
Education: Bachelor of arts in English and school rehabilitation counseling
Affiliations and Awards:
Region III Developmental Disabilities Council, chair
Central Region Autism Spectrum Disorder Advisory Member
Nebraska APSE Governing Board
National APSE Advisory Board
CASA (Court Appointed Special Advocate)
Central Nebraska Respite Advisory Board
Wendy Wood National Award
Association of Community Professionals
National High Expectations Award from the Assessment Training Institute

District 3

Sandra BordenSandra Borden

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Nurse practitioner for Prompt Care Medical Provider
Education: Master's degree in nursing, post master's certificate
Affiliations and Awards:
Nebraska Nurse Practitioners
Nebraska Pride Chorus of Sweet Adelines International
American College Nurse Practitioners
2010 Outstanding Nurse Practitioner for Nebraska
American Academy of Nurse Practitioners

Roger DavisDr. Roger Davis, Treasurer

Term Expires: 2026
Employment: History Professor, University of Nebraska at Kearney
Education: Bachelor of arts degree, Youngstown State University; master of arts degree and Ph.D, University of Arizona; Arizona Community College teaching certificate
Affiliations and Awards:
Phi Alpha Theta National History Honor Society, national advisory board and national council member
North Central Council of Latin Americanists, president
Nebraska State Education Association Higher, Education Academy president
University of Nebraska Nineteenth Century Studies Steering Committee
Buffalo County Historical Society Board, member and editor of the Buffalo Tales publication
UNK United Way, campaign chair

District 4

Tom PirnieTom Pirnie, Chair

Grand Island
Term Expires: 2024
Employment: President, Grand Island Express
Education: Two years in electronics
Affiliations and Awards:
Grand Island Area Economic Development Corporation, vice chair
Five Points Bank
Nebraska Trucking Association
Truckload Carriers Association
Grand Island Rotary Club, past president
Grand Island Dive Rescue Team
Nebraska Trucking Association, past chair

Dan Quick, NCCA Representative

Grand Island
Term Expires: 2026
Employment: Retired
Education: One year in welding, Central Community College
Affiliations and Awards:
Heartland United Way Board of Directors
Blessed Sacrament: Parish Council
Nebraska State Senator, 2017-2020
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, past president/business manager
Central Nebraska Central Labor Council, past president
Nebraska State Utility Workers, past president
2017, 2018 and 2019 Holland Children’s Movement Honor Roll
2020 Farmer’s Union President’s Award
2021 Tobacco Education Advocacy Midlands’ Advocate of the Year
2021 Dan Lutz Passenger Rail Advocacy Award
2021 UNMC Recognition and Appreciation
2021 University of Nebraska Recognition and Appreciation

District 5

Linda AerniLinda Aerni, Secretary

Term Expires: 2026 
Employment: CEO and president, Digital Gaming Solutions; CEO, Community Internet Systems
Education: Associate of science, bachelor of science 
Affiliations and Awards:
Nebraska Information Technology Committee Board
Nebraska Commission on the Status of Women
National Association of Commissions for Women
2001 Athena Award for Outstanding Women in Business
2004 Central Community College Alumni of the Year
2007 Nebraska State Chamber Leadership Nebraska
NFIP Nebraska Leadership Council
Winning Women, Excellence in Public Service
Columbus Area Chamber Technology Task Force, past chair
Columbus Leadership, alumni and coordinator
Center for Rural Development and Revitalization Advisory Board
Columbus Area Women's Division, past president and board member

John NovotnyJohn A. Novotny

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Columbus Community Hospital, patient transport driver
Education: Bachelor of science in agricultural economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Technical degree in computer programming, Electronic Computer Programming Institute, Omaha
Master of business administration, Wayne State College
Affiliations and Awards: 
Columbus Medical Mission Team, Columbus, international missions
Columbus Paws & Claws Animal Shelter, Columbus, finance committee
Federated Church, Columbus, various committees and choir
Global Partners in Hope, Omaha, board of directors
Platte County Nebraska 4-H Family of the Year
Nebraska Presbyterian Welfare Foundation, Lincoln, board of directors
Prairie Village Retirement Center, Columbus, board of directors
Red Cross Nebraska/Iowa, regional and national, disaster responder


Sam CowanSam Cowan

Term Expires: 2024
Employment: Retired
Education: Bachelor of science in physics and math
Affiliations and Awards:
American Radio League